Health, Myths, Fraud and the Crisis

Usually I have no sleeping problems. Sometimes I am taking some Melatonin if I like to get up earlier. It took me a long time to find out why I suffered in some nights  severe insomnia. Since I had avoided sauces, soups etc. in restaurants it had not happened for about 2 years, but this night I clearly had the symptoms again, although very tired I just couldnt fall asleep and Melatonin did not help. Laying in bed totally awake it hit me –  may be it was this delicious  Georgian Chicken we prepared yesterday. And as it turned out, the spice Irina had been using contained MSG.

Hidden Names for MSG and European numbers for glutamate containing additives

Neurological Effect of MSG

  • It is possible that certain neurological diseases can be caused by the ingestion of MSG. According to WhatPrice.co.uk, “MSG has been linked to many conditions including migraines, asthma, depression and Alzheimer’s … .” However, the FDA mentions that when fed to rats only in large quantities did it cause these problems. What most people are not aware of is that there are chances that they are consuming large quantities because of the many food products that contain MSG.

Protecting your Neurons

  • In an effort to determine whether vitamin E protects the negative effects of MSG on the neurons, a study titled “The Preventive Effort of Vitamin E on The Neurological Toxicity” by the Journal of Islamic Academy of Sciences found that vitamin E has proven to protect the negative effects of MSG on the nervous system. The study involved 100 day-old chicks. All were injected with MSG. One group was given vitamin E 24 hours prior to their injection of MSG. All but this group developed neurological symptoms and died quickly. The group that was given vitamin E 24 hours prior suffered no ill effects.

The absorption of vitamin E is influenced by the amount of fat in a meal

Yvonne M. Jeanesa1, Wendy L. Halla1, Susan Ellarda1, Elizabeth Leea1 and John K. Lodgea1 c1

a1 Centre for Nutrition and Food Safety, School of Biomedical and Molecular Sciences, University of Surrey, Guildford, Surrey GU2 7XH, UK

 

Natural Vs. Synthetic Vitamins

Biological Activity Reduced 50%

Proponents of synthetic vitamins might claim natural and synthetic are equally effective; but when it comes to Vitamin E, that natural form is internationally recognized to be more biologically active than the synthetic form. The biological activity is reduced by 50%, even to 70% in synthetic form.

Doubt has also been cast on other synthetic vitamins and their biological activity by Isobel Jennings of Cambridge University. “The synthetic vitamins may be identical with naturally occurring substances or closely related. The close relations, althought useful in many ways, pose some problems in that they may have only a fraction, whether large or small, of the biological activity of the natural products … Synthetic vitamins may perform some of the functions of their natural counterparts while being useless for others. But what may be more important is the fact that synthetic vitamins, prepared from chemicals instead of nature, are frequently less active biologically than their natural counterparts, thereby reducing any beneficial effect they may have.”

Comments on: "Another sleepless night from MSG (Monosodium Glutamate)" (4)

  1. Selma said:

    Thank you very much for your sharing🙂 I just had a sleepless night yesterday due to the very strong msg. So does that mean Vit E can prevent msg effect? Have you ever try it? Does it has any effect if I take it afterwards? Thanks🙂

    • Rinaldo said:

      Hi Selma,
      Must admit that I never tried Vit E as a remedy against the effects of MSG, I am taking it anyway. I learned to avoid MSG by reading all labels carefully and by making people ( e.g.my butcher ) aware of the problem. We have here a retail chain which guarantees that all products are MSG free and I am not eating out much. Sorry …

      Rinaldo

      I am getting Vit E from pumpkin seed oil, not Vit E pills …

      • Thanks Rinaldo, since I’m living in Hong Kong, so it’s really quite difficult for me to avoid MSG / Chinese food totally😦 Anyway, I’ll start taking Vit E and making myself a guinea pig to test for its effectiveness. I will let you know the results once I got it ;p On the other hand, I’ll “try” to avoid taking the MSG food as best as I can…you know, sometimes insomnia is really quite unbearable, especially it is caused by MSG (+ Dry throat). By the way, I was once tried the accupunture, and it seems quite effective🙂

        Selma

        • Rinaldo said:

          I understand, am getting very nervous from MSG. I am not sure though that taking Vit E pills is really a good idea. I am taking pumpkin seed oil which is rich in Vit E and apparently good for my prostate. Dont know what one could eat in Hongkong, maybe almonds, Good Luck! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

